Humans of Long Beach: Jesse Martinez

By Leslie Veliz

IMG_2628.JPG

Name, Age, Major, Year & Hometown

Jesse: Jesse Martinez, 22,  Sociology, Senior, Redondo Beach.


How did you get a job on campus?

Jesse: The month before freshman year started, I went to a job fair on campus for work study. All the employers from school presented their jobs. I got a few applications but my top pick was mail services.


Why?

Jesse: It seemed like a cool job because you get to drive around campus (in a golf cart) and it seemed simple and easy to do. They called me the first week of school and basically I just signed some papers and got hired.

What is your favorite thing about your job?

Jesse: The freedom to roam around campus delivering mail and making connections with the different faculty and staff from the different departments on campus.


You said you’re a senior, what will you miss most about CSULB?

Jesse: I’ll miss the beautiful campus and my friends and coworkers that I have made and the interesting classes that I took.


What are some of your passions?

Jesse: Yoga and traveling. That’s where my money goes.


Where have you traveled to?

Jesse: Different parts of the U.S. like New York, San Francisco, Portland, Hawaii, and I’ve been to Paris.

IMG_2705.JPG


How do you cope with stress?

Jesse: I do yoga and some mediation; that's my way of coping. Also hanging out with friends.


What are some of your future goals?

Jesse: I have different ones. I’d like to become a yoga instructor and possibly do some non-profit work. Eventually, I’d like to own and invest in properties.


What kind of non-profit work?

Jesse: I would like to help disadvantaged groups such as the homeless and LGBT youth. I want to provide social services like housing, healthcare, and even counseling.  


Where is your favorite place in the world and why?

Jesse: Hawaii because there’s so much beauty. The nature, beaches, the lush green mountains. The people are really friendly and nice. There’s awesome weather year-round.  

IMG_2708.JPG

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Jesse: I see myself having my own house, working a job I love, and traveling the world.


What has been your biggest obstacle in life and how did you overcome it?

Jesse: I use to limit myself when it came to participating in classes because I was shy and afraid to sound stupid. I gained confidence in myself and believed in my ability to speak my mind.


What has been your biggest accomplishment?

Jesse: Getting through college and mostly supporting myself financially. I’m about to graduate and get my degree in sociology.


What advice would you give to your teen self?

Jesse: Make more time to care for yourself and not always feel like you have to do everything. Learning to say no so you don’t spread yourself too thin. I used to do that a lot when I was younger and it burnt me out.


Favorite color and why?

Jesse: Teal because it is a mixture of blue and green. To me it’s a very calming color, like the water in Hawaii and the sky.


Favorite Type of music?

Jesse: I would say pop, hip hop, and EDM.

IMG_2726.JPG